Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Ahhh the book that became an amazing movie. I admit it, I saw the movie first. Now before you go on and jeer at me as I wept for 20 minutes after the movie because it was so beautiful…Doll told me I HAD to go read the book so of course, I did. And as the tears began to fall down my cheek before I realized it I have not felt more fulfilled after reading something as I did after reading this in a long time.

me-before-you-book-covers

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

five candies

I wish I had words other than simply beautiful. Or utterly delighted. Truly perfect. I have short phrases to saw about this book. It simply took my breath away. As many of you know or as you have read this book is about Louisa Clark or Lou as she is called and how she comes to be the caregiver for a man in a wheelchair Will Traynor. There is something to be said about how the roughly mannered Will and the quietly delightful Lou get on and what they do that just builds this book into a literary promenade of the heart. It will bring you to some many emotions I can’t even get all of the descriptions right and I am normally a very wordy person. This book took me for a ride and I am quite sure that I do not want my money back, from the moment Will asks Lou to stop being chatty to the moment of the lightning storm I could not put this book down. I feel for Lou as a person who finds delight in the simplest interactions and just finding out how people work and feel, just the simple joy in a smile and a laugh and feeling with all of your heart. I understand will, in feeling out of place in who you are and who you used to be. I can close my eyes with each of the picturesque descriptions that Jojo has laced through the story and really put myself into her world This book took me on a journey and has left me wanting more. I haven’t felt such deep emotions for a pair of characters in quite a long time and though the movie was spot on in what it portrayed, nothing can evoke the emotions that were brought upon by the words that Jojo wrote. This will be a treasured book till the end of my days.

Me Before You

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s