Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things By Jenny Lawson

This book was sent to me when I was having a tough time getting along. It was sent on the whim of one of my greatest friends. He said that if it didn’t make me laugh, then nothing ever would. He was right.

furiously-happy-02

In Furiously Happy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea.

But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

As Jenny says:

“Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos.

 

“Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you’d never guess because we’ve learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, ‘We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.’ Except go back and cross out the word ‘hiding.'”

Furiously Happy is about “taking those moments when things are fine and making them amazing, because those moments are what make us who we are, and they’re the same moments we take into battle with us when our brains declare war on our very existence. It’s the difference between “surviving life” and “living life”. It’s the difference between “taking a shower” and “teaching your monkey butler how to shampoo your hair.” It’s the difference between being “sane” and being “furiously happy.”

Lawson is beloved around the world for her inimitable humor and honesty, and in Furiously Happy, she is at her snort-inducing funniest. This is a book about embracing everything that makes us who we are – the beautiful and the flawed – and then using it to find joy in fantastic and outrageous ways. Because as Jenny’s mom says, “Maybe ‘crazy’ isn’t so bad after all.” Sometimes crazy is just right.

five candies

If it were up to me I would give this book 10 billion stuffed racoons, or squirrels named Bobo or something equally as delightful (but who has time for that). Jenny Lawson deftly explores what it is like to live with mental illness but not in a way that you would ever feel like you were reading about a mentally ill person. This is not a chapter by chapter woe is me in depth interaction with the mind. It is more an off the cuff interview with her brain at random points of the day. Things that person may randomly think about while going through the motions of everyday life, I mean I have never thought about taping my taxidermied racoon to my cat but once in a while when I was small I did want to make my dog a pony for my babies, and if I had gotten my hands on some tape…It is a real life day to day look into the thoughts of a woman who like many of us is not always holding it together. She is a mother, a wife and an author who has been faced with the task of walking in shoes that are sometimes just a little bit too tight. Ok, maybe more than sometimes and more than just a little. Her off-handed remarks and her snarky comments, her biting back and forths with her husband, I know have hit close to home on so many occasions and if you can’t laugh at yourself in these times then how the hell are you going to make it to the end of the rainbow? You pick up this book, you relate to what she’s gone through, you find yourself nodding and laughing out loud to the point where your children are looking at you sideways and you find yourself in a better mood for the rest of the day. It’s a book to keep by your bedside, to pick up when you need a pick me up. Ever so worth the read and the 5 candies.

Furiously Happy

Leave a Reply

