John Green and Me

Hey ya’ll,

So let’s talk about John Green shall we? Now he is the name on everyone’s mind, especially since this year his book Paper Towns has been adapted into a movie. This would be the second movie based on his novels and the first one I want to see more than just to prove myself not a monster. And this is why….

WARNING: I am not about to sugarcoat this in the least….So you TFIOS fans, I apologize ahead of time.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

http://www.amazon.com/Fault-Our-Stars-John-Green-ebook/dp/B005ZOBNOI/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1432126922&sr=1-1&keywords=the+fault+in+our+stars

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars brilliantly explores the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

The Fault in Our Stars is a book that I wanted to love. WANTED being my main concern. The fact of the matter is I felt like a monster after I read it. Let me back track a little….So I had heard about this book way way before that movie was even known about. It was on my TBR list for a long time, so when they announced they were making the movie I moved it up to like the top 50. The movie came out, and I still hadn’t read the book, I was batting 1000 at this point. I watched the trailers and after a period of contemplation I decided to take an afternoon and pull up TFIOS on my kindle and give it a shot.

Wow, just wow. So I get that the book was based around a true(ish) story or at least around a real person. And I get what the point of the book was, that it was YA (which I love) and that is came from the heart (or at least I think it does). So of course, when I dove into it, I had high expectations and I was looking forward to seeing the movie afterwards. Needless to say my expectations were not met and though it’s on HBO I still have not seen the movie.

My biggest problem…I didn’t cry. I cloased the book, took a deep breath and realized I wasn’t sad. I even thought back on what happened and I just couldn’t cry. Trust me, I wanted to. I felt like a MONSTER for not crying. I asked peoples opinions, and everyone else except like 5 people cried. So what was wrong with me? I just wasn’t sad, I didn’t get the impact of the words. I understood what was going on but I had not even the vaguest hint of emotion for either of the characters. So i promised myself I would see the movie and then maybe I would cry (or get stoned for being a monster). Since I was so worried about that second bit, I never saw the movie.

I don’t know if it was John’s writing style, or just the flow of the characters but TFIOS did not move me as it was supposed to. Sure it was a great plot and the characters were likeable but they just didn’t touch my soul. And the movie really did cast two young ators who I was not seeing as those characters.

So there you go, that is how I kicked off my jaunt with John Green. It has been a little over a year, and my mother wanted to get me a present for taking that long walk across a stage (I graduated college, yay team me). I had recently seen a preview for a movie called Paper Towns who low and behold was written by the one and only John Green.

PaperTowns2009_6A

http://www.amazon.com/Paper-Towns-John-Green-ebook/dp/B001ANSS5K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1432128356&sr=1-1&keywords=paper+towns+by+john+green

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificent Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life—summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. When their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Margo has disappeared. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Embarking on an exhilarating adventure to find her, the closer Q gets, the less he sees the girl he thought he knew.

It took me approximately 3 hours to read this book. I initially had began to skim through it, until I read “Maybe all the strings inside him broke” . It was that line that intrigued me, that line that made me want to read more. So for the next 3 hours (give or take a few Mommy duties) I entered the world of Paper Towns. Of Q and Margo, with Ben’s terrible jokes and Radars unquivocal awesomeness. I found myself enjoying this story far more than the TFIOS, maybe it was the dynamic between the characters or maybe it was because they reminded me of my friends. But I actually enjoyed reading this one, I actually could not put it down.

I still have an issue with John’s writing style, and the way he leves things unfinished. I still do not care for the similarites in books and in the wording. However, I am actually quite excited to see this movie (which comes out right before my birthday!). Full of no name actors and if the script holds to the book it could be something quite exquisite.

So there you have it. John Green and I have a very rollercoaster of a love hate relationship. And I don’t think I am a monster anymore. I think the whole point of John Green’s books (or at least the two I read) is HOPE. And that is something I can stand behind.

So there you have it, John Green and me. Take it or leave it. Let me know how you feel about his books/movies.

So much squiffy love,

Chick

xoxo

One thought on “John Green and Me

  1. I’ve never read either book – or watched the movies – so I can’t comment on that. But I have had quite a few experiences with disliking a book that other people were raving about. Eat, Pray, Love. I found that book extremely boring. And I tried and tried to get into the Harry Potter books and never did. You should have seen the horrified looks on people’s faces when I publicly admitted to not liking Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

