RELEASE DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Irresistible Refrain ~ By Michelle Mankin

iresistible refrain

 

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FLG5KPS

Two years ago everything changed for the remaining members of the Seattle rock band Tempest.

Two years is a long time.

Too long to keep on remembering.

Not nearly long enough to forget.

In trouble with nowhere else to go songstress Lace Lowell seeks refuge with the band during their stop in New York City. It’s a risky move for her because they are both there, two impossibly good looking men whose lives are inseparably entwined with hers. One who bruised her heart and one who smashed it into pieces.

Warren “War” Jinkins, the mercurial lead singer of Tempest, has always had a thing for Lace. But then again so does his best friend and band mate.

Bryan “Bullet” Jackson, the sinfully handsome tat-sleeved lead guitarist, has a bad boy reputation befitting his nickname. For the past two years Bullet’s had a rule with the groupies: one time, never twice, leave ‘em satisfied, but always leave ‘em.

Two guys, one woman, and a host of dark secrets all together within the tight confines of a tour bus as the group travels cross country.

Can the past be forgotten and buried?

Will friendships prevail?

Or will the three of them succumb to seductive impulses too addictive to resist?

** Irresistible Refrain is a gritty rock and roll tale intended for mature readers seventeen and up. Contains sexual situations, strong language, and drug use. **

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18366676-irresistible-refrain?from_search=true

rock star rating

This book is an incredibly emotional journey for me. The whole journey from beginning to end meant so much (and I may or may not have read it at least 3 times by now). I promised myself I would keep this part to review only, so after the review and the fab poster for IR I have written my journey for this book with the fabulous Michelle Mankin herself. Alright here we go.

When I started my journey with Michelle and Black Cat i thought hey this chick writes adorable rock and roll books, but there wasn’t enough grit for me. When her last book came out and i saw it had picked up a little bit it certainly because much more appealing and then i was asked to read IR. Well now…Irresistible Refrain BLEW ME OUT OF THE WATER. This book is seriously unlike any other book I have ever read in my ENTIRE literary life. The book isn’t your typical novel that has come out recently, there is so much more that flows through the pages. The life blood of the book is as if Michelle opened her veins and gave you her soul. The book is sweet and terrible, joyful and painful, gritty and smooth and everything you need to immerse yourself fully in a world that is not too far off from your own. 

The book revolved around the band Tempest, we first met them in Michelle’s and are finally getting to take a closer look at the individuals that are part of the band. Particularly a gorgeous tattoo’d guitarist named Bryan aka Bullet and his best friend brooding bad boy lead singer Warren aka War. A love triangle invisible to War that has been there since they were teenagers has now come to a head when War’s long time girlfriend Lace has come to stay on tour with the boys. Can Bryan finally overcome the feelings he has harbored since before he knew girls existed or will he succumb to the emotion that threatens to overthrow his heart. Will War pick up on the internal struggle of his best friends heart and the external struggle of his girlfriends drug addiction. And has it come time for Lace to finally make the decision that she has been avoiding for years?

The characters aren’t sticky sweet, they don’t sweep you off your feet, they don’t make wildly romantic gestures but you love them. You fall in love with the men they want to be, the way they want to fight for you and the measures they take to become better than they are. The situations are real, and they are tough, they can take you to places that are hard to face, hard to read and hard to deal with. In the end it is those situations that bring out the strength in you, so keep your tissues nearby and learn from the mistakes those characters make. Most of all, take heed in the lessons that come up throughout the book, if you or someone you know needs help, get them help because in the end we are all here for you. That is something I can promise you from myself, Michelle and the guys in the band.

xx

Chick

MMbanner 2

My journey with Michelle Mankin

I am writing this down because I feel like I want to have a written record of all the wonderful things this woman has brought into my life. When I first read Love Revolution and Evolution I was given them as gifts and I thought oh well these are cute. I never thought much about them at all. When i found out my name was in Love Resolution I was a bit taken aback, I have chatted with Michelle but I really didn’t think my opinion was much to her. I have a tendency to downplay the effect I have on people that i only speak with on occasion. Well Love Resolution was something else entirely, I got more into the characters than ever before, especially a guy named Bryan from a new band named Tempest. There was something about this book that was different, it still had the cute that the previous books had but it had more to it than that.  About a week later i was asked to be part of Michelle’s super secret club, which is so cool, and join the ranks of her closest gal pals (and Harvey) in order to promote and help support her writing. 

I don’t know how long after this that it happened but I offered up my services to Michelle as a beta for whatever she needed next. I didn’t realize that my offer would be taken up so quickly. I was lucky to be the second reader of IR and it blew me away. I read through it, put my thoughts on paper and then got up the courage to call Michelle on the phone. As that phone rang I thought I was going to have a panic attack,  she picked up and I did everything NOT to scream in her ear. We talked for over an hour that day about the book mostly but about life. She became my touchstone, my zen. And that was it, that kicked it off. From texts, to calls to fb messages she was there when I needed her and vice versa. Tears have been wiped away, anxiety calmed, cheering squads led. All because of an offer to beta read. This book coming out is monumental because it is all Michelle, heart and soul she is all there. Not hiding behind fluff, her soul is there for you to see. And I am so very lucky to have been able to take this journey with her.

Michelle,

Today on your release day I want you to know how very proud I am of you. Despite all the odds, the scary bits, the hard parts, the steamy words you did it! I am blessed that you have honored me with letting join you on this journey. You are my friend, my inspiration, my mentor and my soul sister. to this journey and so many more to come

Love you

Shaye-Baby

1149464_10100968268164907_203469489_o

(Chick is being a wee bit indulgent in posting a pic of her and Michelle)

Michelle Mankin is a young/new adult romance writer as well as a self-proclaimed giant…inside her own mind.

For many years, she toiled in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn’t kill her, and the hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.

Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and the latest novel, Love Resolution are rock ‘n roll romances. The first is based on Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, the second on Much Ado About Nothing, and the third on The Tempest. The first three books in the Black Cat Records series combine the plot underpinnings of the famous playwright with the drama, excitement, and the indisputable sexiness of the rock ‘n roll industry.

When she is not putting her daydreams down on paper, you can find Michelle traveling the world with her family. Sometimes for real and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.

Links-

Goodreads- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5835506.Michelle_Mankin

Website- http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5835506.Michelle_Mankin

Blog- http://www.michellemankin.com/blog.php

Facebook- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Michelle-Mankin/233503403414065?fref=ts

Twitter- https://twitter.com/MichelleMankin

*a portion of all my first day sales are going to covenant house. they counsel and assist at risk teens like my heroine in the story. This is an excerpt from the mission statement on their website http://www.covenanthouse.org/ : Homeless kids have rights. They have the right to a home … the right to food … the right to guidance and an education … the right to be free from sexual, emotional, or physical abuse … and the right to be free from exploitation. These kids have the right to be safe and – most important – to be loved.

Leave a Reply

