Kiss Me in Paris

About Kiss Me in Paris

Kiss Me in Paris by Karpov KinradeNo one knows my secret. Ever since high school, ever since I started living in fear, no one has known the true me. But then I met him, and I couldn’t hide anymore.

He became my hero, saving me from the villain of my past. He became my friend, his smile a blanket of warmth. And he scared me. Because he, this beautiful man, he might become more. Then he’d see the real me, and I couldn’t let that happen.

My name is Winter, and what I desire most I can’t have.

Flashes of the night I was drugged rush back to me. His strong arms carrying me through the streets of Paris. The feel of his heart beating as my head rested against his chest. The soft press of his lips against my forehead when he thought I was asleep.

Oh shit. I’m falling for the cowboy. Cade.

But we can’t be anything more. He has his own secrets. His own darkness he keeps hidden, like the letter he keeps with him everywhere he goes.

The letter he refuses to open.

* * *

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Full length novel: 87, 000 words

Kiss Me in Paris is a standalone novel in the Kiss Me Series. Travel the world with the Deveaux sisters as they find love, and trouble, in all the right places.

Kiss Me in Paris is available on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, and Kobo. Add it your Goodreads to-read shelf here!

5 candy

*****5 Unbelievably beautiful, Amazing, Heart-Warming, Romantic, Sexy, Charming, Heart-Wrenching, Intoxicating, Hilarious and Cowboylicious Stars!!!!!

“Paris is pregnant with layers of history, colored with the ink of artists who dared to dream of a world only they could see.” ~ Winter

“One star breaks off from the others, shooting across the sky, a bright light trailing behind it, and I finally understand why people wish on dying stars. Because something always has to die for life to give birth to a new dream.” ~ Cade

This is my first Kimberly Kinrade & Dmytry Karpov novel. Honestly, never heard of them until this book and OMG!! Their writing blew me away. They have written an amazingly wonderful and beautiful love story.

This story took place mostly in Paris, which many know as “The City of Love“. It’s about fate, two people (one from Texas and the other from New York) finding true love, letting go of the past, finding inner strength, overcoming fears, forgiveness and faith. It’s also about believing in yourself and not letting other people hold back your dreams just because they couldn’t have theirs. There’s plenty of laughter, angst, sexual tension, romance, heartache, drama and male testosterone flying high. This is an amazing read so relax, grab a glass of wine and come travel down the beautiful streets of Paris with Winter and Cade.

Cade, my Cade, such a sweet natured and beautiful soul. Cade Savage is a down to earth charming, passionate, sexy, blue eyed, broad chested cowboy from Texas. Can money buy happiness? Not according to Cade, he comes from an obscenely wealthy family and yet he’s not happy. Since a tragic accident took the life of his older brother Pete and an accident caused permanent brain damage to his younger brother Stevie, Cade became the heir to the largest ranching family in Texas and is expected to run the family ranch. Cade has no desire to run the family business at all, his lifelong dream, passion and goal is to become a successful architect. Cade’s father is one very self centered man. Since Cade refuses to run the family business, his father refused to pay for college. Without his father’s help, Cade received an acceptance letter from Columbia offering him a full scholarship if he meets all requirements. With this acceptance also came the opportunity to spend a summer at one of the world’s leading Sorbonne University in Paris to study French.

“Yes. That’s passion, not love. Passion fades. And once it does, you’re left taking care of someone you can barely stand, suffering through hard times, putting up with each other, trying to make each other happy when you’re not even happy yourself. A sculpture of real love wouldn’t look this enticing. It would include pain and cruelty.” ~ Cade

Unlike Cade, Winter Deveaux grew up in a loving family surrounded by doting parents, siblings and a cousin. When many little girls wanted to be princesses and ballerinas, Winter wanted to be a writer, a romance novel writer. But due to something horrific happening to her in her past causing her to shut down emotionally, it affected how she wrote. She has the knowledge but lacks personal experience. So when an opportunity to spend a summer in Paris at the famous Paris-Sorbonne University, I’m sure she didn’t need much persuasion.

Two kindred souls full of dreams and goals, two different states and one romantic city brings these two beautiful souls together.

When Cade and Winter first ran into each other at the airport boarding the same flight to Paris, no way in hell would they have expected this would change their future forever. Both leaving the past behind temporarily, ready to see where this journey will lead them. When Winter was caught in an embarrassing situation at the airport security checkpoint, Cade was there to witness it all. Embarrassing moment aside, Winter came head on with her worst nightmare that she can’t escape because they are in the same summer program. Fortunately, Winter’s best friend Jenifer is in this program too, to offer her some kind of sanity or chaos as I like to see it.

“I think of Winter, of her smile, her eyes, her arms wrapped around me, and I know where home is. It’s wherever she is, and right now she is too far away. My heart has escaped my body and is walking Paris without me.” ~ Cade

“She opened herself to him, and, in that moment, she opened herself to the world. Let it hurt her. Let it burn her veins, boil her blood and scorch her heart. For where there could be pain, there could be pleasure and love. She would be cold no longer. She would melt the hearts of others, and in turn, they would melt hers. She would feel the full spectrum of emotions and cry. She would be human. And she would be happy.” ~ Winter

I’ve never been to Paris though it is a place I would love to visit in the near future. While reading this book, I felt like I was sitting outside one of the sidewalk cafes, sipping a delectable cup of espresso, enjoying my book at the same time mesmerized by the sunset behind the Eiffel Tower. I can feel the slight breeze as I walk across Lover’s Bridge over the Seine River. I want to have what that old couple has. I want to lock my eternal love to the love of my life and throw away the key into the Seine River. I could see the Arc de Triomphe and Champ de Mars from the top of Eiffel Tower. The view was simply amazing and breathtaking. Coming face to face with The Cathedral of Notre Dame was just spectacular. Did you know that the gargoyles and chimera were originally painted in bright colors that faded over the years, leaving the gray stone exposed? My favorite is the island of Mont Saint-Michel. The abbey sits at the highest point on the hill, a beacon to lost souls on pilgrimage for hundreds of years. Mont Saint-Michel is an island commune in Normandy, France. It is located approximately 0.6 miles off the country’s northwestern coast, at the mouth of the Couesnon River near Avranches. It is 247 acres in size. The island has held strategic fortifications since ancient times, therefore it felt like I was going back in time, walking down narrow cobblestone streets with low hanging signs that sway in the wind against stone buildings. There are so many detailed descriptions and architecture facts in this book that you can’t help but being transported to Paris while reading it.

“The monks built the abbey at the very top in order to get close to the heavens as possible. The problem was, they didn’t have enough even ground. They built four giant crypts at the top of the mount for support. ” ~ Cade

“Today’s abbey is built on the remains of a Romanesque church, built on the remains of a Carolingian church. The walls are 15th century fortifications built to defend against cannons. They’re low, rather than tall, to make for a smaller target, and they’re connected by protected passages, so soldiers could get where they needed in safety. Even during the hundred year war between England and France, while the English took all of Normandy, they didn’t take Mont Saint-Michel.” ~ Cade

Throughout the book, Cade and Winter will face their own fears, shame and reluctance. I love seeing the progress of two broken but beautiful people finding the courage to help each other overcome their inner turmoils. I’ve heard this plentiful enough that someone, somewhere on this earth is created for each other. In this case, Paris brought these two kindred souls together. As much as Cade tries to be careful around Winter, putting her at a distance and keep their friendship platonic, Winter never fails to surprise him making him fall more in love with her.

“This woman in front of me is so unexpected, so perceptive. Like the perfect building, she has the foundation, the framework needed to stand the test of time, and the beauty to make gazing on her so addictive.” ~ Cade

Winter is not like any other girls Cade has ever met. She gets him, they were made for each other. She understands why he’s so passionate about architecture when no one else gives a damn. He was told more than once by girls that this architecture shit is boring and yet it intrigues her. Winter may have a dark secret buried deep within her and yet she’s an optimist. As she continues to fight the fears within her, she kept trying to help Cade let go of his.

“I get it now. Why you love this. It’s like life, like a visual metaphor for life. As humans, we strive to grow taller and taller, to do more, be more, accomplish more, to push more boundaries of what’s possible, right? And like in life, sometimes we outgrow our foundation and we start to crack under the pressure. To survive, we have to come up with new ways to provide support for our own expansion, and that is beautiful. That adaptation, that creative use of resources, is what makes the human story so elegant and poignant. It’s why I love words; they are my drawings, books my buildings. We’re not so different, you and I. We’re both doing our best to learn how to paint metaphors for life with the tools we understand and know–you with your buildings and me with my books.” ~ Winter

“I am an optimist, and I have your answer. God, if there is a God, judges people. If someone committed an accident, or did something wrong they thought was right, then God considers their past. Has this person done good their entire life? Or do they commit accidents often, make mistakes all the time, never caring to learn how to be careful? That’s what matters.” ~ Winter

There are so many amazing characters that make up this story each playing an important role in Winter’s and Cade’s life. But I like to show my gratitude to Leslie whose role is so slight and yet caused such a great impact on Cade’s decision to pursue his dreams and goals, not letting his father talk him down. Without Leslie, there probably wouldn’t have been a story. Thank you my sweet child.

What began as a platonic and endearing friendship progressed into something so natural and irresistible. In the end, they can no longer deny the love and passion they have for each other. Is love enough to overcome the fears and doubts? Can Winter’s worst nightmare be erased completely? Will Cade’s father come around and realize what he’s doing is pushing the only son he has left further and further away? Will Cade be able to forgive his father? This book definitely do not lack laughter, angst, tension, romance, sex and some of Paris’ amazing famous landmarks. I can’t say enough good things about this book. Every character, every sentences was written beautifully. I was captivated from beginning till the end. Well done KImberly and Dmytry! Would I recommend this book to my friends? Absolutely, without a doubt. I also look forward to the rest of the Deveaux sisters’ stories so stay tune my lovely bloggers.

“The sun has set, and the Eiffel Tower is lit up bright with thousands of lights, like a beacon for the downtrodden and romantically starved, except I am no longer either. Still, it calls to me, and I thank this great city for all it taught me in such a short time.” ~ Winter

“Au revoir, Paris. I will carry you in my heart forever.” ~ Winter ** Lady H

About Karpov Kinrade

Kimberly Kinrade and Dmytry KarpovKarpov Kinrade is the pen name for the husband and wife writing duo of bestselling, award-winning authors Kimberly Kinrade and Dmytry Karpov.

Together, they write fantasy, paranormal, mystery, contemporary and romance and hook readers into new and exciting worlds that will leave you laughing your ass off, crying your heart out and falling in love.

Look for more from Karpov Kinrade in the Kiss Me series, Seduced Saga, the Forbidden Trilogy and more coming soon.

They live with three little girls who think they’re ninja princesses with super powers and who are also showing a propensity for telling tall tales and using the written word to weave stories of wonder and magic.

Become a member of the Street Team for Karpov Kinrade.

Connect with Karpov Kinrade on Facebook.

Connect with Kimberly online: Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, Amazon, Goodreads.

Connect with Dmytry online: Twitter, Google+, Amazon, Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Kiss Me in Paris

  1. Wow! This might be the most amazing review we’ve read of our book! Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to not only read and review, but to include so much passion and insight into your review. And you pulled some of our most favorite quotes! 🙂 We’re really grateful and working hard on the next Deveaux book now!

Leave a Reply

