Irresistible Refrain

I can’t even begin to tell you how crazily excited I am about this book. First of all you have this glorious cover. And my SOUL SISTER wrote it. And *SWOON* Drool over the cover, check out what one of our very own gals has to say as a lucky beta and add it to your TBR list and await it’s release!!!! -Chickiresistible refrain

Two years ago everything changed for the remaining members of the Seattle rock band Tempest.

Two years is a long time.

Too long to keep on remembering.

Not nearly long enough to forget.

In trouble with nowhere else to go songstress Lace Lowell seeks refuge with the band during their stop in New York City. It’s a risky move for her because they are both there, two impossibly good looking men whose lives are inseparably entwined with hers. One who bruised her heart and one who smashed it into pieces.

Warren “War” Jinkins, the mercurial lead singer of Tempest, has always had a thing for Lace. But then again so does his best friend and band mate.

Bryan “Bullet” Jackson, the sinfully handsome tat-sleeved lead guitarist, has a bad boy reputation befitting his nickname. For the past two years Bullet’s had a rule with the groupies: one time, never twice, leave ‘em satisfied, but always leave ‘em.

Two guys, one woman, and a host of dark secrets all together within the tight confines of a tour bus as the group travels cross country.

Can the past be forgotten and buried?

Will friendships prevail?

Or will the three of them succumb to seductive impulses too addictive to resist?

** Irresistible Refrain is a gritty rock and roll tale intended for mature readers seventeen and up. Contains sexual situations, strong language, and drug use. **


rock star rating

Irresistible Refrain (Tempest Book 1) by Michelle Mankin Reviewed by Lady H
*****5 Hot, Heavy, Passionate, Sexy, Rock N Rolling and Bryanlicious Stars!!!!!!
First, I want to thank Michelle Mankin for giving me the honor of proofreading her books. This is however an unbiased review and base solely on how I feel about it. No way giving me the honor to proofread has any effect on how I review it. I’m a brutally honest person and if your book totally sucks, you will know it.
We first became acquainted after I read her second book Love Revolution from her fabulous debut the Black Cat Records Series. What a talented writer! I was blown away by her writing. She cut straight through all the bull shit and write a beautiful story. Every sentence flows smoothly to the next with impeccable details and no repetition making reading her book so effortless. She never fails to surprise me and capture my interest with every new book she writes. I was so sad when the Black Cat Records Series came to an end but was screaming and dancing with joy when she told me she’s writing more about the opening band Tempest for Brutal Strength. Through her passion for writing and mine for reading, we have develop an amazing friendship. Michelle, thank you for the greatest honor you bestow upon me by giving me the opportunity to proof read for you.
Here goes nothing…
I didn’t know what I was going to expect when I got hold of this manuscript. I only knew it was about Bryan and Lace. This series is about the band Tempest. If you haven’t read any of Michelle’s books, shame on you! I seriously warn you now that you better go read them. If you like sexy, hot, tatted Rock N Roll bad boys, you are so in for a treat. This book is a lot deeper and darker and I’m not sure if this is in fact the direction she’s going with for this series. Regardless, I’m in awe with her writing.
When it comes to the music industry, 3 things come hand in hand, SEX, BOOZE & DRUGS. So…there’s no exception in this book. This book’s main focus is about Bryan, War and Lace.
Bryan “Bullet” Jackson is the lead guitarist for Tempest. Oh boy and holy hotness!! This sizzling hot, insanely handsome, sexy and tatted bad boy had me all hot and bother throughout the entire book. I almost forgot to mention that beside having a well, sculpted solid rocking muscled body, this sexy bad boy had pierced nipples. I just want to run my tongue all over that body…mmm…yummylicious. Ok, enough drooling…get back on task, missy. Bryan and Lace have a history. They knew each other since childhood.
“I am going to marry you someday.” ~ Lace
“Lace Lowell, I love you. You’re the most beautiful woman I’ve ever known, and I want you to know that I’ve always had faith in you, even when you lost your way. I know that you’re no weak minded princess in need of a rescue, and that’s ok because I’m no prince. It’s really me who needs the rescue, from a life that means absolutely nothing to me if you’re not in it.” ~ Bryan
Warren “War” Jinkins is the mercurial lead singer of Tempest. I won’t go into too much about him since I want to focus on Bryan only. Bryan and War have been best friends since middle school. They are bonded strongly with reasons that you will find out soon enough when you read the book.
Lace Lowell, a beautiful songstress with an ugly past and destructive present had a fall out with a man that abuses her came to seek refuge with the band. From here things starts to get really interesting. Definitely, no lack of angst, frustration and sexual tension. I absolutely love how Michelle portray Lace being from someone really weak to finding herself and comes out stronger than ever but not without almost having death knocking on her door. 
Both Bryan and War happened to have a thing for Lace. A love triangle between two best friends and a woman, just this alone is enough to captivate your reading interest. Who do you think will come out of this grinning like a Cheshire Cat and on top of the world? Does love conquers all or friendship? Everyone deserves a second chance in life if they choose to walk the right path after all hell break loose, right? Well…smirking…I already know the answers. You want to know too? Guess release day can’t come sooner huh? Make sure you grab a copy on October 8th, 2013. Until then, savor this review and remember to mark your calendar. And if you haven’t read any of Michelle’s books, get your ass out of here and go read.
Love Evolution (Black Cat Records #1) 
Love Revolution (Black Cat Records #2) Love Resolution (Black Cat Records #3)

About the Author-

Michelle Mankin is a young/new adult romance writer as well as a self-proclaimed giant…inside her own mind.

For many years, she toiled in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn’t kill her, and the hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.

Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and the latest novel, Love Resolution are rock ‘n roll romances. The first is based on Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, the second on Much Ado About Nothing, and the third on The Tempest. The first three books in the Black Cat Records series combine the plot underpinnings of the famous playwright with the drama, excitement, and the indisputable sexiness of the rock ‘n roll industry.

When she is not putting her daydreams down on paper, you can find Michelle traveling the world with her family. Sometimes for real and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.







a Rafflecopter giveaway

$25 Amazon gift card open Aug 29- Sept 12th.

Facebook Events-

Cover Reveal-


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s