A Game Worth Watching Book Tour

image_1361380426497041

4 candy

I am going to start this out by saying I can’t stand books about basketball. They confused me, the incessant dribbling, passing shooting. Maybe it was because i was a cheerleader for a high school basketball team that was terrible and I was bored to tears or maybe it is because I genuinely don’t understand that game, I just can’t read about it. That being said… I FREAKING LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t even tell you how much I loved this book, I was up until 3am, my eyes flicking back and forth on the page (dribbling as it were), my hands were shaking and my heart was racing as if I were playing in the championship game. I was rooting for Emma, I was rooting for Riley and Tom and Jerry and Ashley heck I was even rooting for Shiloh (Never Lauren though). This book got under my skin and stuck with me, and I am under total belief that it will stick with me for the rest of my days.

So here is the low down on the book. Emma is an underdog, in every way possible. It’s just her, her dad and her 4 brothers and life isn’t easy. Not like it is for Riley, her best friend since she was a kid. His family is her family. But her freedom, her escape from reality is on the courts. A ball in her hand and the world is her oyster. Until the day that an offer is made that could turn her world upside down. Does she stick with her life and her boys on the concrete court that knows her footsteps or does she go for the championship while risking it all to deal with the one thing in her life that scares her more than anything….her own gender. Have I been cryptic enough? Pick up this book!! You will NOT regret it! (And you should totally enter the giveaway below)

Book Excerpt: 

Riley grew quiet and still, studying her in the moonlight. When the seconds stretched into an eternity, Emma bowed her head, unable to look at him any longer. She could only imagine what thoughts he entertained in that stubborn head of his.
He leaned in to look at her downturned face. “You deserve this opportunity, Em,” he said softly. “Who knows where it will take you?”
When she lifted her eyes to his, he put on his you-can’t-resist-me puppy dog face. “For me?”
Why did he always have to make things so complicated? Did it really matter if she didn’t go to college or play on some stupid girls’ team?
She growled in frustration and jumped off the log to escape. Wrong move. Riley’s arms shot out, trapping her between his body and the log, forcing her to face him and the conversation.
“Will you at least seriously consider it?” he asked. “Please?”
“The girls’ team is horrible.” It was a fact and everyone knew it.
“Maybe they wouldn’t be so horrible if you played for them,” Riley challenged.
“I’d be playing with girls who have hated me and teased me since elementary school.” Merely picturing their faces made her stomach churn.
“Since when are you afraid of a challenge?”
Emma injected as much pain as she could into her eyes to gain the pity vote. “I’ll be miserable.”
He secured her face between his hands. “I’ll support you every step of the way.”

Our author is camera shy but here is the scoop on her awesomeness

A former three-sport athlete in high school, Samantha grew up with a ball in one hand and a book in the other. From the moment her first grade teacher asked her what she wanted to be when she grew up, Samantha knew she wanted to be an author.

Samantha currently resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, a ball-obsessed Australian Shepherd, and a cat that can’t get enough cuddle time. Books, writing, sports, music, and marshmallows top her list of favorites.

Link to Samantha’s Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/messages/1015377797#!/pages/Samantha-Gudger/558061540875532?fref=ts

Link to Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16189945-a-game-worth-watching

Link to Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/A-Game-Worth-Watching-ebook/dp/B00B1M6SMK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360626333&sr=8-1&keywords=A+game+worth+watching

Giveaway a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Indie Bookshelf Blog Post  http://theindiebookshelf.blogspot.com/2013/02/agwwblogtour.html

Leave a Reply

